In the News

Sep 15, 2016

The Colonial Legacy - Variants and Long-term 
Consequences of European Expansion

Jan 5, 2016

Ayebia Clarke is delighted to inform our customers that from 1st January 2016 our new US Distributors are Casemate-IPM

Oct 13, 2015

A recent encounter with a phenomenal trail blazer, a Europe-based African Queen of book publishers led The African Bulletin to request an interview with her. We were enchanted by her and we hope you are too.

Jun 20, 2015

African Society of Cambridge University
Africa Together Conference
Friday 5th June 2015 at the Cambridge Union

Nana Ayebia presented a paper titled “African Women’s Activism Rooted in Stories” based on Ayebia’s African Love Stories Anthology edited by Ama Ata Aidoo on a panel at The 4th Annual Igbo Conference with the theme: ‘Igbo Womanhood, Personhood & Womanbeing’ on Saturday 18th April 2015 at the Brunei Lecture Theatre at SOAS in London. She said out of the 21 contributors to the Anthology, half of them were Nigerian writers which shows the strength and depth of Nigerian women’s writing on the international literary stage.

Print this page


African Bulletin interview Nana Ayebia MBE 13th October 2015

Oct 13, 2015

The African Bulletin: Who is Nana Ayebia?

Nana Ayebia Clarke: Nana Ayebia Clarke MBE is a Ghanaian-born award-winning Publisher specializing in quality African and Caribbean writing for an international readership. She holds a BA (Hons) and M.St from Oxford University. She was Submissions Editor of the highly regarded African and Caribbean Writers Series published by Heinemann Educational Publishers at Oxford for 12 years where she worked as part of a team in the International Department that published and promoted the world-renowned African Writers Series. The AWS published prominent and Nobel Prize winning writers to world audiences. Writers published under the African & Caribbean Writers Series imprints included Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe, Nadine Gordimer, Nurrudin Farah, Derek Walcott, Ama Ata Aidoo, Ngugi wa Thiong’o, Buchi Emecheta, V.S. Naipaul, Zee Edgell, Ayi Kwei Armah, Mariama Bà, Yvonne Vera, Kofi Awoonor, Dambudzo Marechera, Steve Biko, Nelson Mandela, Earl Lovelace, Sam Selvon, Ousmane Sembène, Bessie Head, Véronique Tadjo, Kofi Anyidoho, Okot p’Bitek et al. The Heinemann African Writers Series published a corpus of work (from 1962 - 2002) that has now become accepted and acknowledged as the African Literary canon.

Full Interview here

Previous page: Awards
Next page: Events

Website: Studio Beam Ltd