Strict Standards: Non-static method PageInfoOperations::LoadPageInfoByContentAlias() should not be called statically in /var/sites/a/ on line 117

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /var/sites/a/ on line 270

We are bespoke publishers specialising in quality African and Caribbean writing.

About Becky Nana Ayebia Clarke

Nana Ayebia is a Ghanaian-born publisher currently resident in the UK. She has a BA (Hons); and MSt in Women's Studies from the University of Oxford. She was Submissions Editor of the highly acclaimed Heinemann African and Caribbean Writers Series for 12 years where she published and promoted prominent writers and Nobel Prize winning authors. She founded Ayebia Clarke Publishing Limited with her husband David in 2003 and were later joined by their son Nick Kweku in April 2012. Becky Nana Ayebia Clarke was awarded an Honorary MBE by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in 2011 for services to the British publishing industry.

Ayebia Editorial Advisory Board

Ayebia Board of Editorial Advisors comprises academics, writers and critics at the cutting edge of African and Caribbean Literature as below.

  1. Ato Quayson, Professor of English and Director,Centre for Diaspora and Transnational Studies, University of Toronto.

  2. Abiola F. Irele, Professor, African & African American Studies and Romance Languages and Literatures, Harvard University, US.

  3. Simon Gikandi, Professor of English at Princeton University, US.

  4. Nicki Hitchcott, Associate Professor in French and Francophone Studies, University of Nottingham, UK.

  5. Dr Caroline Rooney, Director for the Centre for Postcolonial Research, School of English, University of Kent at Canterbury, UK.

  6. Dr Kwadwo Osei-Nyame, Lecturer, Africa Department, School of Oriental & African Studies, University of London, UK.

  7. Ngugi wa Thiong’o, Distinguished Professor of English and Comparative Literature and Director of the International Centre for Writing and Translation, University of California, Irvine, US.

  8. Dr Harry Garuba, Centre for African Studies, University of Cape Town, South Africa.

  9. Dr Kofi Anyidoho, Depart of English, University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana.

  10. Dr Kwame Anthony Appiah, Professor of Philosophy at the Centre for Human Values, Princeton University, US.

  11. Dr Esi Sutherland-Addy, Lecturer, Department of African Studies, University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana.

  12. Dr Jack Mapanje, Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing, Newcastle University, UK.


Ayebia Clarke Publishing Limited engages the services of internationally qualified academic reviewers to assess all our books prior to publication.


Follow @BeckyClarkeMBE